Gone Girl

So since I’ve had so much free time by not being on Facebook, I’ve been able to read real live books (or… ones on the iPad..).  As I’ve discussed on this blog before, I normally read dry, depressing non-fiction books.  So I’ve been trying to mix it up and read things that are exciting and entertaining.  So, it was new and different that it was all I could do not to skip my Friday evening plans and bail on my friends to stay home and finish Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn.  I’m not sure how I even came to pick it, but it’s on the New York Times bestseller list, so at least someone has found it entertaining.

Let me say, this book was NOT what I was thinking it was.  It ended in such a different way than I was expecting.  (So, points for that!)  I don’t feel like I can say much without spoiling anything, but I really enjoyed this book.  I think it hits on a lot of different points in the human nature and you end up relating to different characters at different points in the story.

Let me back up.  The premise is that there is a woman that has disappeared (hopefully you might have gleaned that from the title).  Everyone immediately suspects the husband, duh (boys are the worst!).  The chapters switch off between the point of view of the missing wife and the point of view of the husband.  The first several wife chapters are her diaries from earlier in their marriage, while the husband’s are set the days after the disappearance of his wife as the police investigation unfolds.  So, you really have no idea where the wife is and what’s going on.  Read it, and then I’ll tell you about all the parts that I thought were crazy and interesting.  I feel like I’ll spill secrets if I tell you now.  (I NEED a book cluuuuub!)  Read it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

