Go here: Cork Wine Bar, Dallas

Cork Premier Wine Bar in Dallas’ Upscale West Village.

It’s been a while since I’ve posted about a wine bar.  I don’t know why I don’t do it more, I certainly hang out at them as much as possible.  I don’t often stray from my usual haunt (probably because it’s a block and a half away from my apartment), the Alcove – I feel like I’m cheating on Luis, our favorite crazy tender of bar (I use that loosely, though, because most of the time he sits at our table and chats and forgets to ask us if we want drinks).  Though, last time when giving me his usual welcome hug, apparently he lingered a little too long for my boyfriend’s taste (though really, the dude gave my boyfriend a shoulder rub one day, come on, who does he love more??).  Anyways, I digress.

We branched out Friday night after dinner with some friends and wandered down the block to Cork Wine Bar in Uptown Dallas.  They have a great, really broad selection of wines, many of which are SUPER yummy (and plenty of which are not in a 20-something’s general price range).  The part that sets Cork apart from other wines bars is the way they do tastings (they’ve got to do something, they don’t seem to have a resident nut like Luis).  You can buy a card, like you’d get at Dave & Busters, loaded with money.  Then, you swing on by several curated stations, with a computer screen and about 6 different wines (divided into themes, like red varietals, collectibles, dry wines, etc.).  The screen gives you some info about the wines, you press the touch screen to choose a wine to taste, swipe your card which debits from your card, and they pour you a taste (or a glass).  You can also buy full glasses and bottles in addition to the tasting option.

Check it out – it’s a nice change, it’s fun, and you can bring in your own pizza from the restaurant next door.

(photos from the Cork website – click link above)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

