Gettin’ my Butt Kicked

I’m exhausted.  I mean, I’m usually tired, duh, but today I. am. physically. exhausted.  This is good.  Inspired by this post on this new blog I found (thanks WordPress!), I thought I would talk about my love of exercise DVDs (so I also had to get my butt off the couch and actually do one…).  Lately I have had a love-hate relationship with exercise.

In law school, this is how it went:  Study?  Gym?  GYM.  No-brainer.
Nowadays, it’s like:  Gym?  Sleep?  Wine?  Anything else?  ANYTHING ELSE.

Exercise really gets in the way of my life.  Yes, wine and tv counts as my life.  But, of course, I sit on my ass for 12 hours a day in my drab office, so I really need to get moving.  Plus, we’ve booked our Jamaica vacation – clock is a-ticking.

Anyways, back to the DVDs.  Mostly I love exercise DVDs because I’m too lazy to get my lardy butt out of the house and to a real gym.  Plus, I’m NOT a morning person, so the extra few minutes it takes to go elsewhere is really just too much to handle.  I’m slowly trying to get up earlier and earlier, but this is a process.  I’ve been doing Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred because it’s only 25 minutes.  Yes, you read that right.  Not even half an hour.  I’m a little skeptical as to how I can look hot for only 25 minutes a day, but I just tell myself it’s better than nothing.  It does feel like a good workout, but I must say I’m not quite shredded.  Though I’m not quiiiite doing it every day.

Today, on this leisurely Sunday, I decided I could afford to spend more than a measly 25 minutes to work out.  I made it a WHOLE hour.  (Mind you, back in law school I spent no less than an hour and a half at least five times a week at the gym.  My, how times have changed.  If you’re in school … NEVER LEAVE!)  Today, I tried out my newest DVD acquisition – Piloxing, by Viveca Jensen.  It’s a combo of two of my favorite kinds of exercise, kickboxing and pilates, so when I heard about it, I HAD to buy the DVD.  It’s great!

The DVD is not super high quality (though really, how many exercise DVDs really are?  Spielberg ain’t shooting em), the music is not front and center which I tend to prefer, and it’s maybe a tad cheesy (again, what exercise DVDs aren’t?), but the workout is super.  I love pilates, but one of my concerns is that I don’t always feel like I’m burning enough calories while doing it.  I love the toning and the exercises, but these days I don’t work out enough to be able to afford a low calorie, calm exercise – know what I’m sayin’?  This DVD BURNS the calories.  I can tell.  Mostly because I was left splattered out on my yoga mat afterward, recovering.  And I didn’t even use the recommended one pound arm weight glove things – I’m ordering them now though!  Viveca is all about the girl power – I feel like she could really kick some ass – kind of like a blonde version of that scary-ass Bond girl that squeezed men to death.

I feel like I will be able to kick some ass soon – hopefully in time for vacation.  The DVD that I ordered came in a four-pack.  One is an all-abs workout … for TWO hours.  Scary.  Yeah, if I had two hours a day to work on my abs, I’m sure I’d have amazing ones.  Needless to say, I have not tried that one yet.  Dare to dream.  Even after the one-hour workout, I now feel like I can sit on the couch for the rest of the day and not feel bad … Isn’t that what exercise is all about anyways??

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

