The Marriage Plot and the Full Frontal (Book Nerdery)

I’ve been a little bit behind on my reading, as well as my blogging, as you oh-so-loyal readers might have noticed.  I must be having too much post-work wine and tv… it happens.  Especially to lawyers.  It’s sometimes an effort to be intellectual in my free time.  I’m working on it though.  I finally just finished The Marriage Plot, by Jeffrey Eugenides.  I haven’t read any of his work before, but he’s got a Pulitzer, so that’s recommendation enough for me.  He’s also written Middlesex and The Virgin Suicides.  I digress.  I thought this was very well-written with excellent character development.  You empathize with all of the characters, even when you don’t necessarily want to.

The college/post-college story brought me back to I am Charlotte Simmons, by Tom Wolfe, another really interesting, modern read.  Both are full of characters teeming with intellectual vanity.  I felt like I had a lot of homework to do to catch up on all of the literary references in the Plot.  Eugenides is an excellent writer and I will absolutely be reading his prior works.  You should check this one out.  Buy it here.  Anyone have any recommendations for my next read?  Anyone want to start a book club?!?

As I was browsing around the interwebs, looking for my next good read, I stumbled upon this awesomely-named blog, Insatiable Booksluts (thanks WordPress).  Love it.  This site has a bunch of great challenges, where you read all kinds of prize-winning books, to make sure you’re not laying around reading, well, crap.  As the type-A lawyer, I like me a challenge – it’s good to have goals!  There are several challenges, check out the link below to see what kinds of crazy nerd-fun you could be having.  As I am no wimp, I’ve chosen the second easiest challenge, hah.  Maybe if I EVER complete this one, I’ll move on and up.  Thank goodness there is no deadline for this homework assignment, or I’d get a D.  I have chosen the Full Frontal (not ONLY because of the name), which means I am committing myself to reading the following:

  • 3 books by Nobel laureates
  • 3 novels that won the Pulitzer Prize
  • 3 books that won the Man Booker Prize
  • 1 book that won the PEN/Faulkner award
  • 1 book that won the National Book Award for fiction
  • 1 book by an author that won the Neustadt International Prize for Literature

I’ve decided my first book will be The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen, which won a Pulitzer in 2002, mostly because I already own it.


Join the challenge!
I am excited!  Nerd nerd nerd, nerdy nerd nerd.  Someone join me and we can have a cyber book club!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Marriage Plot and the Full Frontal (Book Nerdery)

  1. urbanebeast

    Oops, I lied. The Corrections was a finalist, not a winner. BUT, it won the National Book Award in 2001, so I’m still on track. Phew, that was scary. Thought I was going to have to hit the book store – would have been tragic :).

  2. mama

    i read Middlesex and the virgin suisides. Well written but disturbing subjects.
    you can borrow my copies and avoid the book store 🙂

  3. Pingback: Vacation Books (but not empty beach reads!) | urbanebeast's blog

Leave a Reply

