Can I borrower $80 million??

NYC Art Sale To Feature Munch’s ‘The Scream’.

Sotheby’s is selling the only version of Edvard Munch’s The Scream that is privately held (there are four).  They are estimating that it will go for $80 million. It is just bananas to me how much people are willing to pay for an icon.  I love art probably more than the next person, but if I had 80 mil, I think I’d be focusing on purchasing my island (yup, MY island) … and maybe a helicopter first.  I pity the person that must shell out that much for THAT… wait, NO I don’t!!  Though, I must say, what kind of life do you live if this baby is having over your bed?

Since I don’t quiiiite have $80 mil (cash flow issue only, you understand) to acquire precious art, I have a plan B.  Versions of the Scream have been stolen several times from museums in Norway, so, to the future owner of this one, beware!  (Click here for the top 10 most notorious art thefts in history – a lot of them are really fun)  I’m not sure if you’re aware, but when I retire from my legal career, I plan to become an art thief.  I realize that at least in the case of The Scream, they were not successful, but that will not deter me.  For inspiration, watch my favorite Audrey Hepburn movie (and that says a lot!) – How to Steal a Million.  I think all I need is some Givenchy attire and a cute blue-eyed sidekick.  Audrey wouldn’t lead me astray.

Also check out this book, the Rescue Artist, about tracking down the thieves that stole The Scream.  Much more fun than buying it.  Tad more risky.  Whatev.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

