just call me Martha Stewart.

Sorry friends for my absence from the blogosphere.  I’m sure y’all have been devastated.  But I have just been swamped lately – like no time to chill and breathe.  So it’s finally so nice to have a lazy Sunday to rest and get my life/myself together.

Today I have learned to use all of the electronic kitchen appliances that I got for Christmas (eep), but have never tested out.  First stop:  smoothie breakfast.  I know this looks and sounds gross, but it was really good!  I’m (as of today) going on a health kick (minus the required work dinner at the Tex-Mex restaurant tonight…).  So, I found a recipe on one of my favorite food blogs for this Green Monster Smoothie (she has kids, I’m going to come up with a cooler name – maybe something involving the Hulk.)

(Pardon my crappy  phone photography.  I need to use my big-girl camera.)  Doesn’t it just LOOK healthy??  I feel better about my life just from drinking it.  So here’s the recipe… I swear, you don’t taste the spinach – very sneaky if you ask me.

Green Monster Smoothies

Yield: 2-3 servings

Ingredients:

1 banana (frozen or not), cut into chunks
1 cup chopped frozen pineapple
1 pear, coarsely chopped
1½ cups orange juice
2½ cups baby spinach leaves, rinsed and dried
1-2 tbsp. honey
3 tbsp. ground flaxseed (optional) – I don’t really know what flaxseed actually does for you, but it sounds healthy.  So I’m going to go with it – I had to buy a huge thing of it at Whole Foods – grainy, but doesn’t really taste like too much, don’t worry.

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a blender or food processor and puree until completely smooth.  Taste and adjust sweetness with additional honey, if desired.  Serve immediately.

I really do recommend this smoothie if you’re looking to work more fruits and vegetables into your diet, like I am.  It’s really painless.  And, I’m not gonna lie, I think the green color is also pretty killer.  Maybe I’ll tweak the recipe, so it’s unique to me, but I think I shall call it the Killer Hulk Smoothie (soo much more grown up than Green Monster…)

Next up, I tested about this recipe from Cooking Light that my lovely sister recommended for Meat Loaf “Muffins.”  I’ve always been a little leery about meatloaf.  I didn’t really like it growing up.  Plus, the whole idea of a loaf of meat is just kind of gross.  So a petite little muffin at least sounds a bit cuter, no?  Still weird, but they came recommended so I thought I’d give them a try.  Very yummy.  And perfect to make ahead for the week.  I’m anticipating a crazy week, so it makes me calmer to at least know I have something home-made and healthy to go home to.  Plus, they come in ready-made portion controls…

All this domesticity has made me tired.  I think I shall have to go recline.  I don’t know how people do it all day every day…

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “just call me Martha Stewart.

  1. Mallory

    I tried this today! It was really good. Haha I was a little nervous adding the spinach…

  2. Pingback: Raspberry Lemonade Spring Cleanse Smoothie | Wander*Wonder

Leave a Reply

