the little boy with the twinkle toes

J.Crew Ad Showing Boy With Pink Nail Polish Sparks Debate on Gender Identity – FoxNews.com.

I meant to post about this earlier this week when I first saw this on the Today Show, but time has slipped away from me.  I am completely fascinated by the hullabaloo that this J.Crew ad has caused!  Sometimes I feel like people just LOOK for things to be in an uproar about.  So, check this out and tell me… is this as big a deal as some of these crazies are making it??

Frankly, if I looked at this ad, I might not have even noticed that this chick has painted her son’s nails pink.  I must say, it’s a nice color, and oh so similar to the current state of my own toenails.  But, I digress.

Everyone’s all in a huff about this ad and how it might encourage trans-gender behavior in children.  Or that people are trying to blur the lines of gender identity.  Really???  That seems a little much? One woman even commented:

‘J Crew, known for its tasteful and modest clothing, apparently does not mind exploiting Beckett [the child] behind the facade of liberal, transgendered identity politics.’

Good grief, woman.

Someone on the Today Show pointed out that if it was a little girl dressed up as a boy, we would not even be having this debate. I totally thought I was a boy when I was growing up.  Ninja Turtles?  You think I was April because I was this chick?  F no!  I was Leonardo, son.  And I think I turned out fairly adjusted and normal (and if not, it wasn’t because I ran around as if I were a little boy).  My sister and I used to dress my brother up as a girl all the time when we were growing up (poor guy…)… but he doesn’t seem to have any confusion or display any habits that are inconsistent with traditional and stereotypical notions of gender identity.  Sheesh, people.  Calm down.

While I was searching for a copy of the ad to post here, I also came across these pictures (see link below).  Maybe Jenna (the woman in the J.Crew ad above (and president and creative director of the company by the way)) is just keeping up with the celeb fashion trends… see this link to check out pictures of Gwen Stefani’s, J.Lo’s and Christina Aguilera’s boys.  And those kids are cooler than me.

Also, apparently Justin Bieber has his own nail polish line.  I don’t even have time to get into that…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

