Beware of old ladies…

So my new single self is really working on keeping busy and doing new things.  Or at the minimum, being less of a waste of space and making better use of my time.  So, my friend and I decided to be fancy and cultural so we hit up the theater.  We saw Arsenic and Old Lace at the Dallas Theater Center.  It’s probably better known (ok, only maybe to old movie freaks like me that don’t tend to hit up the theater very often) for its film adaptation starring Cary Grant (sigh, I love him).

Like most old movies that I love, the plot is completely ridiculous and amazing.  The Cary Grant character (named Mortimer, love it!) finds out that his little elderly aunts are murderesses.  As “one of their charities,” they spike old men’s elderberry wine with arsenic to presumably put them out of their suffering old-man misery.  And bury the bodies in the basement, naturally.  Mortimer spends most of his time worrying that insanity runs in his family and that he will end up crazy (hell, I worry about stuff like that with my own family occasionally… kidding, Mom…).  Best line: “Insanity runs in my family, practically gallops!”  Anyways, it’s hilarious and all of the characters are outrageous and over the top.  I recommend if you’re into old screwball comedies (surely you are!).

The theater version was excellent as well, though I’m no critic.  Mortimer and the main aunt were both fantastic.  There was more physical comedy than I expected and I thought it was hilarious.  Highly recommend.  Now I can feel much better about watching bad tv this evening, aaaaaah.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Beware of old ladies…

  1. Heather

    Pretty sure you should name your future bulldog Mortimer…Just sayin’

Leave a Reply

