Eat, Pray, Blarg

Like apparently a lot of people all of a sudden, I too have an opinion about Eat, Pray, Love.  Don’t judge me…I didn’t read it, I listened to it on cd when I was doing a lot of driving back and forth between Dallas and Austin.  Ok… you can judge me a little; I judge myself.  But you can’t listen to some sort of haute literature when you’re driving on a ridiculously gross 3 hour stretch of highway.  It’d be enough to push one over the edge into insanity and road rage, both of which I often struggle with.  More so the road rage, but I tend to find the two inextricably intertwined.

Aaaanyways, this is not the type of book I tend towards.  You might say I’m a book snob.  I tend not to read books just because everyone else is doing it.  Thus, never read Harry Potter, though I continue to wonder what all the hoopla is about.  Never read the Lord of the Rings series even though I will recognize those as arguably real literature.  I like to read broccoli books, not junk food books.  Ones acknowledged as real literature or that have some sort of real value.  Anyways, focus chicky… back to the topic at hand.  Like many of the haters out there, I thought Elizabeth Gilbert’s book was whiny and self indulgent.

Don’t get me wrong.  I’m all about the you-go-girl trips to foreign countries and self discovery and all that crap.  Hell, I’m going to Asia for three weeks – though that’s not really for self discovery as much as seeing some cool shit and going to new places.  May eat some sort of bugs or crickets or whatnot … that’s what they do there?  My issue with this book is that the woman acts like she’s the only person that has ever gone through a rough time.  You got divorced…wah wah, millions of people do that a year.  She left her own husband so that tends to make me even less sympathetic.    I’m totally fine with you up and changing your life to make yourself happy, just don’t act like such a victim!  You will arouse no sympathy from me playing the martyr. She should be happy that she has the kind of job and financial stability to where she is able to take a YEAR off whatever her work was before (writing?) to go to Italy, India, and Bali.  Count your blessings lady, don’t cry me a river.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

