moneyless world?

Moneyless World = Free World = Priceless World.

This is a blog about a guy who apparently lives with absolutely no money.  And has for the past 9 years.  And this is not living without currency, he apparently manages to get by without any sort of bartering system as well.  I’m having trouble wrapping my head around this concept in general (see previous blog posts about fashion and expensive travel….).  His life slogan, if you will, is “freely give, freely receive”.

His website is really just a tirade against money, how it’s not real, and denouncing the evils of it with a religious sort of zeal.  People think possession is love, possession makes us think that sex is sin, and that therefore sex is debt.  (I’m struggling to deal with this string of logic….).   So…not your typical religion…  He says he takes no charity (I have a little trouble believing this – is that not what “freely receive” means?) and doesn’t live off of government food stamps.  I really struggle to understand how he even survives on a day-to-day basis.  He cites his reasons for his lifestyle as follows:

“(A )It’s Instinctual.  It’s for (B) Political reasons,  (C) spiritual reasons, (D) health reasons (mental & physical health), (E) economic reasons, and because (F) it’s just plain fun, seriously.”

He claims not to work because he was tired of the rat race.  He thinks all society should just play:  “If somebody is paid for taking photographs, you call them employed workers.  If somebody takes photographs for no pay, you call them playboys.  If you act for ulterior motivation, you call it work.  If you act from your heart you call it play.

So, then, let everybody play.  Let us see no distinction between work and play.  Only then will this society work.” (from his website).  I dunno about this…  Just seems completely irresponsible to me… Don’t get me wrong, I’d love to “play” all the time.  But that’s just not real.  Also, I’d like to have a house and a shower and food not from a dumpster.  Call me crazy.

There is a really interesting article about this dude on one of my favorite travel community sites, Matador, and some interesting discussion about whether this guy is a revolutionary or just a mooch.  While he has some interesting (if not super crazy hippy) points, this is just not a sustainable lifestyle.  He can find free food because we live in a first world country full of excess.  You’re not going to be able to live off of others like this in a third world country.  And he’s only able to live the way he lives because there ARE people out there that do work and do make money and do productive things for society.  So… clearly I guess you get that my opinion of him leads towards mooch.  Of course, I’m going to be a corporate lawyer…so… I’m sure that tells you something about me.  I’m one of the greedy bastards I bet he hates.  But at the same time I work my ass off.  I understand his points about the evils of exceses in our society, but this goes too far and is totally unworkable.  What do you think?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “moneyless world?

  1. Nic

    Unacceptable. Forgive me for going all Malthus on his hippie ass, but “The main peculiarity which distinguishes man from other animals is the means of his support-the power which he possesses of very greatly increasing these means.”

    I have absolutely no respect for what this man is trying to do. Try as he might to eschew prosperity, Linds is exactly right in saying that he would not be able to live were it not for the things productive society throws away.

    He should really just get a job.

Leave a Reply

