Rent-a-Style

borrowphoto from:

I can’t decide if I’m interested or concerned or ambivalent about the fairly recent emergence of luxury rentals online.  I guess that any of you that have seen the Sex and the City movie are aware of the site Bag, Borrow or Steal.  You pay a monthly fee and can rent the “it bag”, or whatever you want.  The only time I see sites like this as being at all feasible is if you MUST have the Balenciaga bag of the month that is too trendy (not to mention several months’ rent) to buy.  If it’s a Cole Hahn bag, or another reasonably (ish) priced brand, it doesn’t seem to be worth the money.   I am against “it bags” in general, as I prefer to only invest in bags that won’t go out of style in a month.  If I’m expected to shell out a four-digit number, you can be for damn sure I’m carrying that puppy around until I die.  And I don’t want to have to ship it back to some website when I’m done with it either.

That said, while I could possibly see the appeal of renting a fabulous handbag, I must say I’m slightly more skeptical about sites that allow you to rent clothing.  If you’ve read previous posts of mine, you’ll note that I’m already a little creeped out by vintage/already-worn clothing.  I mean, I don’t wanna wear some pants that someone’s worn without underwear.  Feel me?  Thought so.

I don’t mean to sound like a total and utter snob, but it seems to me the point of luxury items is that not everyone can have them.  They are one (or a few) of a kind, special, unique.  If you can borrow a fabulous handbag or dress, it just doesn’t have to same effect to me.  Though, to be fair, I guess most of the time famous celebrities are only wearing borrowed clothes too (which, by the way, is extremely annoying because they are the ONLY ones that can afford some of the most ridiculous high-end clothes like Versace dresses costing thousands of dollars.  WE regular people have to buy them, but they get them (or get to wear them at least) for free??  That’s some B.S. if you ask me).

All that being said, I am curious about some of these clothing rental sites so I decided to look into renttherunway.com.  First off, I’m immediately taken aback by the block on the site requiring me to enter my email address to be put on the waitlist.  Waitlist?  Uh uh.  This is not me on the waitlist to purchase a Berkin bag, this is to rent used clothes.  Don’t think so.  Too hard.  Moving on.

Next stop, weartodaygonetomorrow.com.  So, I’m learning that the way these sites seems to work is that you have to be a member before you can even see the price of the clothing.  What are they hiding from me??  I’m very curious as to how much it might cost to rent something fabulous to wear.  And what kind of penalties there are for, say, spilling red wine on a white Chanel suit.  If you know me, you know that’s likely to happen.  Unfortunately, I’m no investigative reporter, and I’m not quite ready to start renting clothing yet, so I’m not curious enough about these businesses to take a longer look into it.  It’ll have to suffice for now just to know that they’re out there and something to think about.  In the meantime, I’m gonna keep on saving for my next major bag purchase.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

